Employee Directory

Employee Directory Link

College Catalog

College Catalog Link

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Link


Bookstore Link

Class Schedules

Class Schedule Link

Student Links

Student Page Link

40 NRCC nursing students receive pins and degrees

May 15 2012

This is an archived article!

This article was published on May 15 2012 and was archived on May 16 2013. The information below may be outdated or inaccurate.

News story imageForty students in the 2012 associate degree nursing class at New River Community College received their NRCC nursing pins and their associate degrees at a recent ceremony at the college.

This is the eighth graduating class of associate degree nurses at NRCC and the graduates are now eligible to take their registered nurse licensing exam.

Ellen DeHaven, family nurse practitioner and 2005 NRCC nursing alumnus, gave the keynote address, offering the graduates advice to remember during their first year as nurses.

Teri Moore, associate vice president for student learning and nursing program head, provided background information on the design of the NRCC nursing pin. The pin includes a path, gate, sun and mountains encircled by the words "New River Community College Nursing." The gate features the Roman numeral MMIII (2003), representing the starting year of the two-year nursing program. Other nursing faculty participating in the ceremony were: Deborah Gerberich, Katrina Watson, Alicia Jensen and Robin Troxel.

Others participating in the graduation and pinning ceremony were Dr. Pat Huber, vice president for instruction and student services, and Dr. Mark Rowh, vice president for workforce development and external relations. NRCC president Dr. Jack Lewis conferred the degrees.Nursing students receiving pins and degrees were:

From Montgomery County: Katherine Elizabeth Bisbee, Shelley T. Butler, Theresa Anne Conti, Helen Colleen Cooley, Annette Haynes Cooper, Brenda Boyd Epperly, Melinda Leigh Gillespie, Whitney Caroline Graham, Rachel Maria Hagan, Joanna Mae Harris, Angela Chrisann Helms, Sue McGann-Osborne, Angela Nissel, Michael Patrick O'Rourke, Allison Lee Price, Alicia Rae Rutledge, Sherry E. Snider, Khristallia Lynnette Spencer and Sara Maryel Zagursky.

From Pulaski County: Tonya Nicole Dalton, Samuel Wade Hancock, Nicholas Alexander Moldovan, Chanda Sue Reece and Stephanie Lea Willard.

From Radford: Jacqulin Mosier Bain, Andrew Joseph DeHart, Abigail Justine Fitzhugh, Abraham Luther Nelson, Melissa Claire Sampson and Susan Hope Worrell.

From Giles County: Crystal Osborne Collins, Kiva Rochelle Lankford, Aislynn Anne Locklear and Laura Beth Wagnon.

From Floyd County: Charles William Martin.

From Roanoke: Lacy Anne Thompson and Whitney Marie Williams.

From Augusta County: Miranda Kristine Cummings.

From Salem: Aleah Josephine Trovata.

From Lindside, WV: Jessica Reenee Thompson.


Montgomery County: First row, from left - Alicia Rae Rutledge, Michael Patrick O'Rourke, Angela Nissel, Angela Chrisann Helms, Allison Lee Price, Sue McGann-Osborne. Second row, from left - Whitney Caroline Graham, Susan Hope Worrell, Shelley T. Butler, Khristy Lynnette Spencer. Third row, from left - Helen Colleen Cooley, Rachel Maria Hagan, Joanna Mae Harris, Brenda Boyd Epperly. Fourth row, from left - Katherine Elizabeth Bisbee, Theresa Anne Conti, Annette Haynes Cooper, Melinda Leigh Gillespie, Sherry E. Snider

Pulaski County: First row, from left - Stephanie Lea Willard, Chanda Sue Reece, Tonya Nicole Dalton. Second row, from left - Nicholas Alexander Moldovan, Samuel Wade Hancock

Radford: First row, from left - Jacqulin Mosier Bain, Sara Maryel Zagursky, Abigail Justine Fitzhugh. Second row, from left - Abraham Luther Nelson, Melissa Claire Sampson, Andrew Joseph DeHart

Giles: From left, Crystal Osborne Collins, Aislynn Anne Locklear, Laura Beth Wagnon

Augusta County: Miranda Kristine Cummings

Lindside, W.Va.: Jessica Reenee Thompson

Floyd County: Charles William Martin

Call Toll Free: 1-866-462-6722 or (540) 674-3600 plus the extension number to reach any employee.

Kelly Kaiser


Public Relations Assistant

Employee Photo

Joyce Taylor


Public Relations Specialist

Employee Photo



Google Play Store icon


NRCC Alert Icon



Military Friendly School icon


  •  5251 College Drive
  •  Dublin, VA 24084
  •  (540) 674-3600
  •  Toll Free: 866-462-6722
  •  Fax: (540) 674-3642
  •  Directions


  •  782 New River Road NW, Suite 400
  •  Christiansburg, VA 24073
  •  (540) 674-3610
  •  Fax: (540) 381-7128
  •  Directions
  •  More...

Send comments about this web site to web@nr.edu and general questions about the college to info@nr.edu