New River Community College is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday. NRCC will reopen on Monday, November 27, at 8:00 a.m. All of us at New River Community College wish you a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

Employee Directory

Employee Directory Link

College Catalog

College Catalog Link

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Link


Bookstore Link

Class Schedules

Class Schedule Link

Student Links

Student Page Link

Over 120 students awarded NRCC Foundation scholarships

Oct 09 2006

This is an archived article!

This article was published on Oct 09 2006 and was archived on Oct 10 2007. The information below may be outdated or inaccurate.

Over 120 area students are attending New River Community College this academic year with help from scholarships through the NRCC Educational Foundation. The foundation awards scholarships of up to $1,000 to qualified students. They are made possible through generous donations from individuals, families, businesses, non-profit organizations and other friends of the college. The awards are based on criteria such as financial need and scholastic achievement and are available to individuals who are enrolled in specific programs. Most scholarship recipients are residents of the New River Valley, maintain a class load of at least 12 credits, and maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least a 3.0 (a B average).

The student scholarship recipients and the scholarship benefactors will meet October 11 during the college's annual Foundation Scholarship Brunch which will be held at New River Community College in Edwards Hall.

The scholarships and the students receiving them are: Floyd County-Bank of America Scholarship: Lori Price; Bob and Cornelia Dobyns Scholarship: Richard Chaffin; Alex M. Harman Jr. Scholarship: Anahi Alegria and Crystal Yeatts; Odell and Novella Mayberry Scholarship: Ashlee McAlexander; W.E.C. Moore Scholarship: Lorine Hawks; Les and Joyce Pugh Scholarship: Magen Farmer, Madeline Hill, Lorenzo Rios and Katie Spangler; and Simmons Family Scholarship: Trisha Gibson and Alexander Wirt.

Giles County-William M. Anderson Scholarship: Mallory Leslie; Jack and Martha Bolt Scholarship: Kristen Warren; Celanese Corporation Scholarship: Ashley Robertson; CELCO Federal Credit Union Scholarship: Danielle Booth; Alex M. Harman Scholarship: Deborah Mullins; Ann and H.W. Huff Jr. Scholarship: Logan Snider; Robert J. Ingram Scholarship: Eric Vaught; Katz Family Scholarship: Stacy Smith; Charlene Doby Kilgore Memorial Scholarship: Desiree McCrockey;NRCC Alumni Association Scholarship: Kayla Dickerson; NRCC Board of Directors Scholarship: Jesse Bly; NRV Emergency Squad Scholarship: Melissa Minnick and Frances Stilwell; W.E.C. Moore Scholarship: Sarah Hamblin; Carol C. Powell Scholarship: Brittany Moye; James W. Robertson Memorial Scholarship: Janette DiRico; Grace Eva Mabry Tawes Scholarship: Ernest Long; and E. Pierce Whitman Scholarship: Rebecca Poe.

Montgomery County-Bane and Margaret Atkinson Scholarship: Sara Arthur; Bane Atkinson Blacksburg Rotary Scholarship: Ervin Plumbi; Stuart Beville Blacksburg Rotary Vocational Scholarship: Erika Fifer; H.T. Bowling Scholarship: Linda Jessie; Fred N. Cole Scholarship: Kimberly Wright; Corning Incorporated Scholarship: Aaron Tucker; Deeda Scholarship: Whitney Kingery; L.T. Dudley Scholarship: Maria Newsome; Eagle-Picher Automotive (Wolverine) Scholarship: Amber Akers; William Howell Elmore Memorial Scholarship: Michael James; First National Bank Scholarship: Donna Proctor; Alex M. Harman Scholarship: Trista Brown, Laura Carroll, Melissa Crowder and Lori Graham; Ed and Pierrette Huber Scholarship: William Blevins; Odell and Novella Mayberry Scholarship: Susan Estep; Jane O. McCarthy Scholarship: Tessa Sarvay; Thomas J. McCarthy Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Jennifer Bowen; Duane M. Mills Scholarship: Joe Diamond; Moore Family Scholarship: Amanda Horton; Joseph Moore Memorial Scholarship: Justin Kelly; W.E.C. Moore Scholarship: Michael Maxwell; Burke Mottesheard Criminal Justice Scholarship: Cyril Tynes; National Bank of Blacksburg Scholarship: Doris Purcell; Office of Planning and Advancement Scholarship: Melinda Wilson; James W. Robertson Memorial Scholarship: Kimberly Carden; Daniel J. Rooker Scholarship: Roncs Ese-Etame; Paul and Roberta Steele Scholarship: Rebecca Hunt-Ford; V.E. (Jack) Vaughn Scholarship: Kayla F. Bishop; and Jeanne B. Whitman Scholarship: Kathryn Shanks.

Pulaski County - Fred N. Cole Scholarship: Christopher Denny; Richard Allison and Martha Snow Dobyns Memorial Scholarship: Carine Callo; Dublin Lions Club Scholarship: Cora Simpkins; Ran

Call Toll Free: 1-866-462-6722 or (540) 674-3600 plus the extension number to reach any employee.

Kelly Kaiser


Public Relations Assistant

Employee Photo

Joyce Taylor


Public Relations Specialist

Employee Photo



Google Play Store icon


NRCC Alert Icon



Military Friendly School icon


  •  5251 College Drive
  •  Dublin, VA 24084
  •  (540) 674-3600
  •  Toll Free: 866-462-6722
  •  Fax: (540) 674-3642
  •  Directions


  •  782 New River Road NW, Suite 400
  •  Christiansburg, VA 24073
  •  (540) 674-3610
  •  Fax: (540) 381-7128
  •  Directions
  •  More...

Send comments about this web site to and general questions about the college to