New River Community College is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday. NRCC will reopen on Monday, November 27, at 8:00 a.m. All of us at New River Community College wish you a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

Employee Directory

Employee Directory Link

College Catalog

College Catalog Link

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Link


Bookstore Link

Class Schedules

Class Schedule Link

Student Links

Student Page Link

2014 Outstanding Student awards presented at NRCC

Apr 28 2014

This is an archived article!

This article was published on Apr 28 2014 and was archived on Apr 29 2015. The information below may be outdated or inaccurate.

News story imageThirty-five students were announced as Outstanding Students in a Curriculum/Subject Area at the recent President's Awards Ceremony at New River Community College in Dublin.

From Montgomery County: Christina Albert, human services; Michael Brightwell, forensic science; Lindsey Byers, automotive analysis and repair; Rachel Cook, business administration; Holly Crotty, general studies; Michael Flaherty, nursing; Samuel Holt, engineering; Sungin Jo, accounting; Stephen Keffer, engineering; Cecile Newcomb, liberal arts; and Tyler Tennessen, electrical engineering technology.

From Pulaski County: Bradley Clark, computer-aided drafting and design; Stephanie Crawford, business management; Brenda Dalton, administrative support technology; Rachael Downey, music; Crystal Farris, IT computer graphics and web design specialization; Kellie Fore, marketing management specialization; Tiessa Mathena, medical administrative support specialization; Leann Phillips, early childhood development specialization; Michael Reno, architecture specialization; Cody Slaughter, police science; and Amber Slusser, general studies and fine arts.

From Radford: Timothy Coyle, IT network and technical support specialization; Alula Dechassa, general studies-computer science specialization; Harenet Gebrechni, science; Douglas Phillips, instrumentation and control automation technology; and Travis Wood, anatomy and physiology.

From Floyd County: Austin Poff, machine technology and Stuart Wood, welding.

From Giles County: Sherri Gallagher, electronics technology; Reuben Miller, education.

From Wythe County: Megan Black, paralegal studies and oral interpretation.

From New Castle, VA: Seth Clemens, IT game design specialization.

All students receiving Outstanding Student awards have completed requirements for an associate degree, certificate or diploma and are eligible to participate in the college's commencement ceremony on Thursday, May 15.

Call Toll Free: 1-866-462-6722 or (540) 674-3600 plus the extension number to reach any employee.

Kelly Kaiser


Public Relations Assistant

Employee Photo

Joyce Taylor


Public Relations Specialist

Employee Photo



Google Play Store icon


NRCC Alert Icon



Military Friendly School icon


  •  5251 College Drive
  •  Dublin, VA 24084
  •  (540) 674-3600
  •  Toll Free: 866-462-6722
  •  Fax: (540) 674-3642
  •  Directions


  •  782 New River Road NW, Suite 400
  •  Christiansburg, VA 24073
  •  (540) 674-3610
  •  Fax: (540) 381-7128
  •  Directions
  •  More...

Send comments about this web site to and general questions about the college to