New River Community College is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday. NRCC will reopen on Monday, November 27, at 8:00 a.m. All of us at New River Community College wish you a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

Employee Directory

Employee Directory Link

College Catalog

College Catalog Link

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Link


Bookstore Link

Class Schedules

Class Schedule Link

Student Links

Student Page Link

Phi Theta Kappa chapter at NRCC inducts new members

Dec 06 2011

This is an archived article!

This article was published on Dec 06 2011 and was archived on Dec 07 2012. The information below may be outdated or inaccurate.

The Omega Eta chapter of international honor society Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at New River Community College recently inducted 90 new members.

Omega Eta was also the first chapter in the society's history to have Dr. Rod Risley, Phi Theta Kappa executive director, serve as guest speaker via video webcast during the induction ceremony.

To be eligible for membership, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree program and have a grade point average of at least 3.5.

This year's inductees from NRCC's service region were:

from Pulaski County: Amanda Body, Chadwick Cook, Laurissa Eller, Crystal Farris, Jessica Gallimore, Tammy Higley, Clinton Jones, Rebekah Lee, Red Lee, Whitney Lewis, Megan Lineberry, Stuart Lynch, James McDaniel, Tamela Miller, Jennifer Mounlavong, Jerry Quesenberry, Miranda Quesenberry, Carlyn Samuelson, Jennifer Scott, Crystal Smith, Jennifer Tolley, Andrea Williams and Elizabeth Wray;

from Radford: Ean Atkinson, Jacqulin Bain, Joshua Blackburn, Daniel Bryant, Jessica Fisher, Deborah Haines, Benjamin Kessinger, Sarah Martin, Amanda Mills, Michael Mitiku, Clifford Neal, Jr., Christina Shover, John Stiltner, Adam Ward and Susan Worrell;

from Montgomery County: Brittany Adams, Kristin Atkinson, Christopher Bielema, Reese Bintz, Jeremy Clauden, Zac Cole, Hannah Cooley, Melissa Devore, Abdoul Diallo, John di Stefano, Joshua Early, Brenda Epperly, Nicole Harless, Joanna Harris, Luther Haynes, Kristy Hight, Joshua Hocker, Dawn Kirby, Tammy Kuypers, Hunter Morgan, Mary Nester, Kaylynn Oliver, Daniel O'Lowry, Bruce Raines, III, Jessica Riddle, Matthew Seiler, Jeffrey Sheppard, Raymond Smith, Michele Stipes, James Walden, Brooke West and Riley Young;

from Floyd County: Jessica Archer, Jamie Huff, Jerry Light and Pamela Rutherford and

from Giles County: R. Elaine Cook, Tyler Lucas, Anita Ratcliffe, Sharron Reed, Justin Silver and Cody Trenar.

Those from outside NRCC's service region were:

from Carroll County: Stuart Clark;

from Grayson County: Beth Smith;

from Wytheville: Cassandra McCall and Cameron Nye;

from Fairfax County: Michael Moraco;

from Roanoke County: Anita Cash and Aleah Trovata;

from Prince William County: William Smith;

from Monroe County, W. Va: Christopher Whitt and

from Garrett County, Md.: Bryan Hutton.

In addition to inducting new members, PTK also installed new chapter officers. Heather Katz was installed as president, Lauren Wilson as vice president, Cherry Messer as secretary, Kimberly Morrow as treasurer and Briana Ogden as historian.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges and the largest honor society in America. PTK has more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters throughout the United States, U.S. territories, Canada, and Germany. The society's mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

Call Toll Free: 1-866-462-6722 or (540) 674-3600 plus the extension number to reach any employee.

Kelly Kaiser


Public Relations Assistant

Employee Photo

Joyce Taylor


Public Relations Specialist

Employee Photo



Google Play Store icon


NRCC Alert Icon



Military Friendly School icon


  •  5251 College Drive
  •  Dublin, VA 24084
  •  (540) 674-3600
  •  Toll Free: 866-462-6722
  •  Fax: (540) 674-3642
  •  Directions


  •  782 New River Road NW, Suite 400
  •  Christiansburg, VA 24073
  •  (540) 674-3610
  •  Fax: (540) 381-7128
  •  Directions
  •  More...

Send comments about this web site to and general questions about the college to