New River Community College is closed for the Thanksgiving holiday. NRCC will reopen on Monday, November 27, at 8:00 a.m. All of us at New River Community College wish you a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

Employee Directory

Employee Directory Link

College Catalog

College Catalog Link

Student Handbook

Student Handbook Link


Bookstore Link

Class Schedules

Class Schedule Link

Student Links

Student Page Link

Seventy students placed on NRCC President's and Dean's Lists

Aug 30 2011

This is an archived article!

This article was published on Aug 30 2011 and was archived on Aug 31 2012. The information below may be outdated or inaccurate.

Seventy students have been honored for their academic excellence at New River Community College for summer 2011.

To be placed on the President's List, a student must have taken 12 college-level semester hours or more, attained a grade point average of 3.5 for any one semester, and earned a minimum of 20 semester hours at New River Community College. A Dean's List student is one who has taken 12 college-level semester hours of credit or more and attained a grade point average of 3.2 for any one semester.

Those named to the President's List are:

Montgomery County: Zenbaba Asfaw, Meaza Assefa, Judy Chesler, Kwang Woo Chun, Helen Cooley, Melissa Devore, Ledya Gobena, Minsung Ha, Jae Yeon Kim, Christopher King, Jeffrey Miller, Adam Munger, Harmila Solomon, Tammie Wade, Joseph Wilkins, Shannon Winkle and Tewodros Woldesemayat.

Floyd County: Manfred Nissley and Pamela Rutherford.

Giles County: Martha Poe, Charles Quesenberry, Zachary Ratcliffe and Cynthia Stafford.

Pulaski County: Patricia Arnold, Tina Cassell, Kimberly Cook, Joshua Duncan, Tammy Higley, Rebekah Lee, Kayla Melvin, Maleena Stephens, Margaret Tabor and Teresa Trail.

Radford: Sara Alamrew, Negese Bekele, Alula Dechassa, Asli Derib, Alazar Fedlu, Roger Lane, Jesse Lineberry, Amanda Mills, Morgan Neel, Shimelis Roba, Keona Shelor and Godana Yacob.

Wythe County: Thomas Lephew, Cameron Nye, Allison Smelser and Patricia White-Davis.

Carroll County: Melissa Robinson.

Grayson County: Brian Davis and Evelyn Miller.

Those named to the Dean's List are:

Montgomery County: Bhavya Chopra, Amanda Huff, Kelly Kitts, Shuang Liu, Amy Loan, Pooja Miskin and Carolyn Rogers.

Floyd County: Lynn Carden.

Giles County: Sherry Townsend and Matthew Yost.

Pulaski County: Ashley Earles and Sandra Hash.

Radford: Amber Akers and SeungHoo Yoo.

Wythe County: Emily Lephew.

Carroll County: Aaron Keith.

Charlottesville: Milan Patel.

Roanoke: Jeffrey Wardach.

Call Toll Free: 1-866-462-6722 or (540) 674-3600 plus the extension number to reach any employee.

Kelly Kaiser


Public Relations Assistant

Employee Photo

Joyce Taylor


Public Relations Specialist

Employee Photo



Google Play Store icon


NRCC Alert Icon



Military Friendly School icon


  •  5251 College Drive
  •  Dublin, VA 24084
  •  (540) 674-3600
  •  Toll Free: 866-462-6722
  •  Fax: (540) 674-3642
  •  Directions


  •  782 New River Road NW, Suite 400
  •  Christiansburg, VA 24073
  •  (540) 674-3610
  •  Fax: (540) 381-7128
  •  Directions
  •  More...

Send comments about this web site to and general questions about the college to