

PINNING CEREMONY

for the Associate Degree Nursing Class

May 15, 2025

NEW RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE DUBLIN, VIRGINIA

Order of Program

Processional
Welcome
Opening Comments
Introduction of Speaker
Guest Speaker
Pinning Remarks
Pinning of Nursing Students
Blessing of the Hands
Nursing Faculty
Nursing Students
Recognition of Earn to Learn participants

Recessional

The audience is asked to remain standing during the processional and recessional.

Ms. Melinda Tunnell Earn To Learn Grant Specialist, NRCC

NEW RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE

2025 Associate Degree Nurses

Leigh Anne Akers* Kaylee Mae Albert* Kaylee Madison Bishop*# Melanie Shay Bishop^{*} Carrie Faith Blankenship[^] Brianna I. L. Bowen* lesse Owen Buzzard* Sharlene Cathelene Granada Calva* Hailey Breanne Capps* Roger Allen Carroll, Jr. Ethan Patrick Corcoran*^ Myra Isabel Cosmato*^ Maura Frances Coughlin* Maegen Kathlene Davidson* Kelsey Erin Finnerty*# Danielle Victoria Gorsky* Tabitha Dawn Greenhalgh* lessica Nicole Griffini Peyton Bree Grim[^] Grace Arianne Hall* Danielle Renee Helm' Jacelyn Bryn Henshaw*# Kari Nicole Hill* Alexander John Holder* Angel M. Jennings* Casey Leigh Kietrys*[^] Tori Allison King*# Karleigh Mae Krinock* Takaia Thuong Le*# Charles Wade Lefew

NEW RIVER COMMUNITY COLLEGE

2025 Associate Degree Nurses

Alexia McKenna Linkous* Gabriella Auten Locke*# Elaina Kathryn McCoy^# Yesenia Martinez Mercado*# Mattie Alanna Miller* Brittany Nicole Mills* Christina Mae Mooty*# Kimberly Marie Nance* Autum Tamar Nixon*# Brooke Allison O'Brien* Holly Ann Pahl* Lakyn Alexandra Patterson* Nathaniel I. Pinson* Ashia Rainiece Porter# Rvan Andrew Proffitt* Brittany Huff Racey* Sarah Catherine Grace Showalter*# Megan Renee Smith* Hannah Victoria Sowers* Leah Catherine Stinchcomb* Amber Nicole Sult* David Mitchell Taber Daniel Tahlor Traynham*# Madison Flaine Vass* Teresa May Wheatley Courtney Page Williams Morgan Danielle Williams* Ashley Elizabeth Woodring* Pamela Renee Wright*

Acknowledgments

The members of the 2025 Associate Degree Nursing (ADN) class thank their **families and friends** for their support during their enrollment at New River Community College.

Thank you to **Dr. Robert Brandon**, President of NRCC, for his support of the nursing students and faculty.

Thank you to **Dr. Peter Anderson**, Vice President for Instruction and Student Services, for his support of the nursing students and faculty.

Thank you to the following first-year ADN students and NRCC staff for volunteering to help at today's pinning ceremony:

Nolan Buckner Jess DeGrandi Laura Foretich Valerie Knapp Harlei Pollard

The ADN program appreciates the contribution of these faculty members:

Nursing faculty: Wendy Hay, Lisa Helmick, Lisa Johnston, Caitlin Reed, Heather Umberger

Adjunct faculty: Diane Blankenship, Jean Cintron, Sharon Clowes, Denise Haun, Deborah Pike, Rosemary Quist, Candidia Whitesell, and Elizabeth Woodyard

Thank you to the **NRCC Educational Foundation** for sponsoring a scholarship program that benefitted several students in the 2025 class.

Thank you to **Carilion Clinic** for providing nursing pins to all the graduating nurses.

A special thank you to our **18 clinical agencies**. These organizations generously provide opportunities for nursing students to work with patients as well as expert staff members.

Governance Of The College

President

Dr. Robert R. Brandon

New River Community Local College Board

Mr. Christopher B. Calfee Mr. B. Craig Chancellor Mr. Richard L. Chidester Mr. William K. Cunningham Dr. Margaret R. Dewald-Link Dr. Richard F. Harshberger Mr. Eric K. Johnsen Ms. Jessica D. Littlejohn Mr. Christopher P. McKlarney Mr. Cameron D. Peel Ms. Bobbie A. Potter Mr. Jonathan D. Sweet

NRCC Educational Foundation Board of Directors

Mr. William A. (Bill) Aden
Ms. Diane S. Akers
Dr. Robert R. Brandon
Mr. John L. Brown
Mr. Kevin R. Browne
Ms. Angela E. Covey
Mrs. Sandra C. Davis
*Dr. H. Randall Edwards
Mr. William F. (Bill) Flattery
*Dr. Florine R. Graham
*Mr. William E. (Eddie) Hale
Mr. Gary C. Hancock
Mr. Vince L. Hatcher
*Mr. Edward B. Lawhorn
Mr. James W. (Jim) McAlister

Mr. F. Craig Meadows
*Mr. Hiawatha Nicely
Dr. Karanita M. Ojomo
*Mr. Wayland (Street) Overstreet
*Mr. Andrew D. Owens
Mr. James G. Rakes
Mr. David C. Ridpath
Mr. D. Todd Robertson
Mr. Larry J. Shelor
*Mr. L.T. Simmons
Dr. Martha Ann Stallings
*The Hon. Michael B. Watson
*Dr. J. Lewis Webb
Mr. Keith P. Weltens
*Mrs. Anne T. Wheeler

^{*} Emeritus Directors



The New River Community College Nursing Pin

The NRCC nursing pin was designed to symbolize the nursing education experience and the future path of the nursing graduate.

The **winding path** represents the opportunity for you to go anywhere.

You stand at the **gate** now. It is open and invites you to travel beyond.

The **mountains** portray the beautiful area where we live and challenges to meet and new heights to attain.

The **bricks** in the wall symbolize a firm foundation on which to build.

The sun represents your bright future.

The **round shape** is the circle of teaching and learning and of giving and receiving.

The **Roman numerals** for 2003 appear on the gate, the year this program began.

The New River Community College nursing pin was designed by Ms. Teri Moore, NRCC's first nursing program director.