Follow Us! Become a Fan of NRCC!

Contact Information:
Joyce K. Taylor
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4245
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 250

Kelly H. Kaiser
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4301
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 252
NRCC Landscape

For Immediate Release

NRCC board elects new officers


New River Community Collegeís board recently elected new officers. Brad Denardo was elected board chair and Barbara Straub was elected vice-chair.

Denardo, of Blacksburg, is the executive vice president and chief operating officer of the National Bank of Blacksburg. He is also a member of the bankís board of directors.

Straub, also of Blacksburg, is a long-time educator and former Peace Corps member. She has worked for school systems in Pennsylvania and Michigan and, most recently, Montgomery County from which she retired after 37 years of service.

Two members also rotated off the board this year. Dr. J. Lewis Webb has served on the board since 2005 and was formerly vice-chair. He was also a member of the Budget and Finance and Personnel Committees. Webb is a retired dentist from Narrows.

Dr. Linda H. Petrie has also served on the board since 2005 and has held the offices of vice-chair and chair. She was a member of the Curriculum and Personnel Committees during her service. Petrie, of Floyd, is retired from the Floyd County School System.

The board acts in an advisory capacity to the State Board for Community Colleges with respect to the operation of New River Community College.

Board members serve a four-year term and may continue for two consecutive terms. Each local political subdivision sponsoring the college appoints board members to serve in this capacity.
News Story Image

Other Options: