Follow Us! Become a Fan of NRCC!

Contact Information:
Joyce K. Taylor
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4245
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 250

Kelly H. Kaiser
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4301
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 252
NRCC Landscape

For Immediate Release

NRCC appoints new board members


Three new members were recently appointed to the New River Community College board. Mike Patton of Floyd County and Jim Loux and Benny Keister of Pulaski County join current board members Dr. Linda Petrie, Dr. Douglas Martin, Dr. J. Lewis Webb, Brad Denardo, Barbara Straub, Dr. Sue Thacker, Thomas J. McCarthy, Jr., Dr. Jack Brockway and Dr. Florine Graham.

Patton is an intake eligibility worker for the Montgomery County Department of Social Services and also serves as the chair of the New River Valley Planning District and on the Floyd Town Council. Loux is the president and CEO of Alleghany Logistics Group in Dublin and Keister is a retired teacher, coach, and guidance counselor and a former member of the Virginia House of Delegates.

Board officers were also recently elected. Petrie was elected chair and Lewis Webb was elected vice chair.

The board acts in an advisory capacity to the State Board for Community Colleges with respect to the operation of New River Community College.

Board members serve a four-year term and may continue for two consecutive terms. Each local political subdivision sponsoring the college appoints board members to serve in this capacity.
News Story Image

Other Options: