Follow Us! Become a Fan of NRCC!

Contact Information:
Joyce K. Taylor
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4245
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 250

Kelly H. Kaiser
Phone: (540) 674-3600 Ext. 4301
Fax: (540) 674-3663
Edwards Hall 252
NRCC Landscape

For Immediate Release

NRCC students receive awards at leadership conference


Seven New River Community College students took home first and second place awards from the Phi Beta Lambda state leadership conference in Richmond last week. The students are members of NRCC’s Phi Beta Lambda chapter and competed against individuals from six universities and six community colleges in areas such as business law and small business management planning.

First place winners are Kaylynn Brennan of Floyd in Accounting Principles, Rikki Brown of Elliston in Justice Administration and Statistical Analysis, Marjorie Martin of Dublin in Human Resources and Lauren Phillips of Hiwassee in Cyber Security.

Second place winners are Carla Anderson of Hillsville in Business Law, Neil Huss of Radford in Business Presentation and Cindy McPeak of Dublin in Small Business Management Plan.

These students are eligible to compete at PBL’s national leadership conference in Orlando, Florida in June.

Also attending the conference were Julius Walker of Radford and Eric Rasmussen of Pulaski along with Phi Beta Lambda’s NRCC chapter co-advisors Amber Clark and Nancy Evans.
News Story Image

Phi Beta Lambda state leadership conference award winners. From left to right are (front row): Carla Anderson, Kaylynn Brennan, Lauren Phillips, (back row) Marjorie Martin, Neil Huss, Cindy McPeak and Rikki Brown.

Other Options: